No more F-visas for freelancers?

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionNo more F-visas for freelancers?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’m a freelancing software developer based in Chengdu. Recently wanted to renew my 6 months F(business) visa but just now the policy has changed so it’s not possible for freelancers to get F visas in Chengdu. Contacted an agency in Beijing that I got my previous visa from and was told that even there it isn’t possible now.

Do anyone have some useful information? I’m doing research, trying to find other places to get a visa from. Hopefully I can get it from some other province. Know of any visa agency I can contact to see if it’s possible there? Any information would be much appreciated!

Give Nick at Shan Shui visa a call on 159 8229 4232

Participant

Friends having major visa hassles right now. The reason according to some is handover of head honcho later this year, and the annoying habit of sponataneous human combustion is certain areas. Situation seems similar to that of 2008 pre-Olympics. I know a friend is getting put thru the ringer trying to get a new business visa….maybe it’s time to become a “student”…

I normally use Nick and Shan Shui for my business visa extensions, but this time around I was told they are not able to do it.Their best advice for me was to leave the country and apply as a tourist every three months until matters settle and I can resume using a business visa. I too was also told a “change in management/bosses” has made it a sensitive time for agencies and business visas.

If you are in a time pinch, you can still use an agency and avail of an “L” visa which gives you an additional 30 days but you must leave the country after the 30 days…

Participant

Dark days indeed…..

Wow, I thought it was still possible but just needed to leave China more frequently. Not sure if this ease up, but I am not counting on it.