Feedback on Somerset Serviced Apartments?

HomeForumsIn ChengduFeedback on Somerset Serviced Apartments?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello! I am a doctoral student coming to Chengdu in a few days to do research for 6 months at the Southwest University for Nationalities. I am looking for temporary housing that is convenient and comfortable–furnished, etc.

I am looking at the Somerset Serviced Apartments, with whom I have been able to negotiate a rate which seems fairly decent for a western-style, luxury apartment. They tell me lots of foreigners live there for lengthy periods of time–does anyone have any experience with these apartments? Is the internet speed OK? Security? Location? Any insights would be great!

-N

Participant

Yeah, they should be pretty good, it’s an international brand. I’ve only stayed at the one in Shenzhen, not Chengdu but I don’t think it would be much worse here. Security won’t be anything to worry about, location is great, no idea about the internet, but I’d say if you stay in a good hotel in China and you’re having internet trouble it usually isn’t the hotels fault 😉 You might want to get a VPN before you come over.

Out of curiosity, may I ask what rate they offered you? Basically you’ll be paying hotel prices staying at Somerset. You could also stay in a hotel for the first few days until you find an apartment to rent. It’s easy to find fully furnished apartments here in Chengdu. Would be cheaper.

Participant

Somerset is one of the most popular residences for the expat community in Chengdu. You can’t go wrong there I guess. You can get something furnished much cheaper if you take your time to search for it, but it will not be ‘serviced’ as the Somerset is (meaning they will also clean it and provide breakfast).

Participant

Thanks, Kim and Muell!