AMA About Chinese Traditional Culture

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionAMA About Chinese Traditional Culture

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 38 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I ve been thinking about how to introduce Chinese culture and teach Chinese( I am an English teacher , but I love Chinese more) ,so I figured it would be a great idea to ask people what they are really interested in when it comes to traditional culture of china. I think It not only helps me to teach my foreign students Chinese,but also helps to clarify something.

1: My answers are not professional, but ” common” , I guess that’s the meaning of ” culture” , which is some things , some activities or some feelings shared by majority of people who live in a certain area.( in this case, Chinese people and china)

2: MY answers are not about modern Chinese culture or modern china, I will tell people what we Chinese think , in a traditional way. Modern china is simply a copy machine with tons of trashy habits (but we are learning fast) , it’s experiencing what other countries has experienced, and I am not interested in politics , as I believe more in 老子( Taoism) than in 孔子( Confucius).

3:Chinese culture experienced huge changes over thousands of years, I will try my best to give a detailed answer, but I can’t promise it’s always like that. Like I said, just what people usually think.

4:i am doing this also for my Chinese learning students, I wanted to teach in a more interesting way. ( sometimes it is astounding to see how ignorant and arrogant one is about our culture, even though she or he speaks good Chinese, I want my students to speak Chinese and also know about our culture. One can never learn Chinese well without understand our culture. So if you like my way of teaching, you can also join my class.

5: you can ask any word or anything, but I don’t know every word and everything.apologize first if my answers are not satisfying. Also, I hope more Chinese teaching teachers will join me.