Questions About Moving to Chengdu

HomeForumsIn ChengduQuestions About Moving to Chengdu

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I posted here last year seeking information on living costs in Chengdu.

The plan was to relocate as a family in April last year. Due to family commitments we had to postpone, but now we are eager to relocate.

A bit of background info… We are a family of 5, 3 kids aged 13, 12, and a 2 year old. Husband is employed by Sichuan University, I am a piano teacher, however, my employment status for now is uncertain.
    The condition of my husband’s employment and the salary, after months of negotiation, seem to be reasonable.

It looks like that the major block is education for my older children.
    We can’t seem to find a school that could cater for their needs in terms of language. I don’t want to send the to international school, as simply put we can’t afford one.

Any suggestions?

Keymaster

That can be a difficult one. International schools are super expensive. These links may be helpful:

Participant

Thank you for the links, these are quite informative.

Participant

She’s Back!

Any suggestions?

Yes, stay in England. Don’t put ur kids in a shitty position since u don’t seem to know what ur getting urself into or have not really planned well.

But if u MUST, considering ur criteria……HOMESKOOOLLLL…..

Participant

I don’t see any problems for your kids to go to local schools(if they can get in, heard to be hard to do so.). To put them in a International school is kind of isolate them from the locals, which I consider that is a bad thing for kids. Fundamental education in China for subjects such as Math, Natural Science, etc which I think are better than other countries. But this is just my opinion. At least, it won’t hurt if they learn one more language.

Participant

@luofubo

Ur not helping this confused woman with ur bad advice and thinking.