Relocating to Chengdu

HomeForumsClassifiedsJobs & Apartment RentalsRelocating to Chengdu

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Well I’m not having any luck on my own so I thought I might ask for a little assistance from all of you. I’m looking to relocate to Chengdu but can’t find a ‘suitable’ job. I’m an American woman with over 10 years teaching experience in China, I have a degree in Anthropology and a minor in Asian studies.

The problem is I will be relocating with my 6 year old daughter- while my Chinese husband stays back in Tianjin. I’m trying to move closer to his family who live in Chengdu so that she’s not so cut off from the world. Anyway- this means that I can only work during the day and possibly a place for her to start first grade come fall. I’ve gone through for months contacting schools that either want nights and weekends or can’t help me get her into school…in fact many have told me to enroll her in an International school while only offering to pay 6,000 or less a month. It’s just not something I can do on a now single paycheck.

If anyone has any ideas or knows of a school that allows their children to enroll there- I would appreciate the help. Thank you in advance for your time and consideration.

Regards ~

Keymaster

Hi Rei,

Interesting situation you are in. Finding a job that pays more than 6k rmb should be easy for you considering your experience and qualifications, but I’m uncertain how difficult it will be to strike an agreement with a school that includes schooling for your daughter. It seems possible though, you might want to look into a school like Golden Apple, which has multiple locations in Chengdu.

Sorry I can’t be more helpful, I’m not particularly knowledgeable on english teaching in Chengdu, but I’m certain that 6k is very low for a foreign english teacher in Chengdu.

Participant