Thinking of relocating to China with Spouse Visa.

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionThinking of relocating to China with Spouse Visa.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’m a programmer and my boss said it was fine if i wanted to work from China. My wife is Chinese and has a huge family in Sichuan. I visited Chengdu for a month in 2012 and loved it. I have a 2 month baby who is a US Citizen. My question is how plausible is this? I have heard people saying to educate my child there i would need to pay 100,000 rmb per year? Is there a cheaper option? How is the internet there? I connected to a Chengdu vpn and was able to download and upload files from my workplace very quickly through the great firewall using it. Also is it possible maybe i could get a spouse visa and just work from home? In that case should i still receive my funds using a US bank? I’m worried if i did that my US bank would shut down my account or stop letting me use ATMs in China. Also perhaps that could complicate things legally? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Participant

I think if you’re young and single, China is a great option for 1-3 years but the pollution and food safety issues make it increasingly unappealing as time goes on.

With a young child it simply isn’t worth it – their health and well-being must be paramount.

Participant