UK ROA for Child with PRC Passport

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionUK ROA for Child with PRC Passport

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello everyone

Would really appreciate any help , my daughter is 6 and holds a Chinese passport , i am her father and a British Citizen born in UK. Does anyone here have experience applying for a ROA right of abode for the UK . I have heard she could have this put in her Chinese passport then come and go to the UK.

THX in advance

Participant

I’m not a lawyer but any children of a British citizen are British, I’m quite certain it is as simple as that, no matter where you are born.
    Not just ‘right of abode’, but your child is a citizen.

You should just have to do whatever paperwork the British embassy wants you to do. Call them up, surely they will be able to give advice.

I have 2 friends that got a RoA for their kids. It is simple but costly ~£300. The application procedure is detailed clearly on the gov.uk website. The pitfall is that it expires with the child’s passport. So isn’t cost effective unless you just got a new passport and plan to return to the UK on a regular basis. For this reason, I don’t plan on getting one for my son. If you have any questions then drop me a message and I will put you in touch with one of my friends.

I’m not a lawyer but any children of a British citizen are British, I’m quite certain it is as simple as that, no matter where you are born.

His daughter is Chinese. He wants a British right of abode stamp in her Chinese passport so that she may travel to the UK whenever she wishes. He does not want to get her a British passport as that would be illegal.

Participant

His daughter is Chinese. He wants a British right of abode stamp in her Chinese passport so that she may travel to the UK whenever she wishes. He does not want to get her a British passport as that would be illegal.

A little late to reply but: