A Few Questions About Chengdu

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionA Few Questions About Chengdu

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi all,

I have a few more questions regarding moving to/living in Chengdu. Feel free to offer any information you think helpful!

First, I want fast internet, and I’m surprised to see that speeds still seem quite slow in China. Has fiber optic not yet arrived? I would have thought that with all the new apartment buildings going up around China fiber optic would be standard now. What are my options for getting fast home internet and do internet plans allow for unlimited usage? Also relative to this is the use of VPNs. It seems par for the course that everyone uses them in China but I have no experience with setting one up. Is it easy to do, should I wait until I get to Chengdu to organize one, and how certain is it the Chinese government isn’t going to prevent their use in future?

Regarding housing, what’s the deal with paying rent quarterly that I keep seeing? Is this standard, and how fair are apartment leases and landlords in Chengdu? By that I mean have any of you been ripped off or burnt because of some mysterious fine print you weren’t aware of? Also how open to negotiation are the real estate people and what should I be keeping in mind when I start looking for a place to live?

Banks and credit cards! Is it easy transferring money from a Chinese bank account to my bank account in my home country? I’m also curious how easy it is to use a credit card for cash advances in the event I need to, or for accessing foreign bank accounts through Chinese ATMs. Also how do you normally pay utility bills in China?