Architects, Practices & Chengdu

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionArchitects, Practices & Chengdu

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hey everyone,

my name is Eris, I am an Architect from London, England. I am currently living and working in Beijing for China Architecture Design & Research Group. In October of 2012 I visited Chengdu and I loved the city, its streets, the people and the warm vibes I experienced there. My interim contract ends in late Feb and rather than sign a contract for a year I am looking towards a possible shift in Chengdu.

The trouble is that I haven’t got too many practices so I am limited on my choices. If you know that someone is hiring could you please let me know or PM me? Otherwise if you know practices in Chengdu than that should be sufficient? Either way I may be coming over for a holiday around late feb & march so may be able to hold interviews then and even meet some of you if possible.

Thanks a lot in advance and hopefully I’ll see you soon

Warm regards,

Eris

Participant

Hi eris, chengdu is a nice place for architects. I am here just for an year until now and i liked it. There is plenty of work and it looks like there will be for the next few years to come.

Check your PM.

Keymaster

Hey Eris,

There’s a growing community of expat architects in Chengdu, although a lot of them come and go for months or years at a time. I don’t think you’ll have much trouble finding work here, though. Check out these posts on the blog if you haven’t already:

American Architects Find Work and Freedom in China

American Architect Adam Mayer on Chengdu’s Urban Development

Participant

Hey Charlie,

sorry about the late reply, currently on holiday.

I have seen the above posts but I was hoping for more specific names of practices of which may not be widely advertised on the net or the ones which i may have not been able to find insofar.