How to Receive a Package?

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionHow to Receive a Package?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi, I am new to China/Chengdu, my Chinese is really bad but I am learning!

I want to buy stuff online from Taobao etc, I have that part set up, but I’m worried about actually getting the package.

I live in a big apartment building, all the time I see couriers with little bike/trailer/carts with packages, on the phone calling whoever the package is for, to get them to come downstairs and pick it up (at least that it what is seems like).

I also see in the little security hut near the building entrance, sometimes there are packages left in there.

So, when I buy something online, I will have to give my phone number? Ok. Will the courier call when he gets outside? Will he try and come straight to my apartment door inside? Will he leave the package with the security guard? What kinds of things should I say on the phone when I get the call?

I’m a bit worried about not understanding the call etc, and not getting the package. I don’t always have a Chinese person around to help!
    If I am at work/busy when the delivery happens, or miss the call, what happens?

Thank you for the help and advice!

Keymaster

Your phone number will be on your Taobao account. The courier will call and bring it to you if you’re home, if not they can leave it with security guards and you pick it up when you get home. It’s pretty simple actually, I’ve never had a problem. Although when couriers call you, they will never be speaking Mandarin, always Sichuan dialect in my experience. They can be difficult to understand. Just tell them 我在家 (I am home) or 放在门卫 (leave it with the guard), there’s not really much more to say. Good luck!

Participant