Looking for an English Speaking Lawyer

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionLooking for an English Speaking Lawyer

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Here’s my situation: I’m Canadian, just married my Chinese girlfriend, living in Chengdu, but still just using my Chinese Visitor’s Visa (still have a couple of months left on it, and it’s multi-entry so could go to Hong Kong and back to extend it).

We haven’t decided whether we want to live in Canada, and visit China a lot, or live in China and visit Canada a lot ;). Not sure yet what we will decide on.

I currently work as a remote programmer for a U.S. company so have no need to work in China, but I want to investigate the possibility of starting a business here.

So… I’d like to have a chat with an English speaking Chinese lawyer, or at least get some legal advise from someone that can tell me what I would have to do to register a company here in China.

Can anyone recommend someone?

Brad.

Participant

ChinaLawBlog – their service isn’t cheap, but they’re (I think) the best-known corporate law firm with foreigners/English speaking staff..based in Shanghai for their China side services though.

You don’t need a lawyer to register a company, though, there are lots of full detailed walk-throughs on what you need to do. I think there are several on this site, even. http://www.chinalawblog.com has great information on a lot of doing-business-in-china as well as the same sort of “what you need to know” about different types of businesses here.

RE: Visa – if you’re married now, you should be able to switch to a marriage visa, which is 1 year visa at the PSB office at TianFu Square.

Participant

Thanks Rick…. appreciated 🙂

I do all my own legal work in Canada (even represented myself a couple of times in court), but I’m really reluctant to commit any money to a business here without legal advice ;).

Brad.

Participant