Looking to Come Back: Visa Question

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionLooking to Come Back: Visa Question

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hey everyone, hopefully somebody can point me in the right direction.

I studied at Sichuan University from 2014 to August of 2015. That is how I got my Visa last time. I am looking to come back again, first on a tourist visa and then upgrade it later to a different class (according to a Visa guy I talked to). He told me I have to first get back on a tourist visa and he can upgrade it for me when I arrive. I looked up the requirements to come on a tourist visa though, and they need to see round trip itinerary. If I plan on upgrading the Visa while I’m there, would there be a way to get the visa without the round trip information? Seems like a waste of a plane ticket. Or could I perhaps have itinerary which shows me going to Chengdu and then to a different, nearby country for a vacation? Going back to the states is a hell of a plane ticket to waste.

I know there are some foreigners here who keep renewing their tourist visas over and over by periodically exiting into a nearby country and then returning, how do you guys do it?

To sum it up, I’m looking to just live in Chengdu again, not working or going to school. I have my own money. I work from home and my company is based in the states, so my location doesn’t matter.

Any help or advice is appreciated, thank you guys.

Participant

In which country are you getting your Chinese tourist visa? I’ve never been asked to provide a return ticket but last time in Australia I did have to give my itinerary. Perhaps in your itinerary you could mention something like “overland travel to Vietnam” or another bordering country.

Participant

I’m American if that clears it up.