Magic: The Gathering (get your dork on)

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionMagic: The Gathering (get your dork on)

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 37 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Like many other 12 years olds at the time, I got into Magic the Gathering cards in the late 90s. 11 years later some buds from Providence RI and I started playing again at some draft tournaments.

Anyhow, I brought back about 1000 cards with the intentions of making decks for casual beer-fueled matches. My room mates already seem down (apparently MTG has also infiltrated Argentina and Japan)

Hopefully later down the line we can get a few people into it and make a weekly get-together and perhaps order some boxes of cards from Taobao.

I’m also looking for Chinese cards as it is a fun medium to practice reading characters.

Keymaster

I played Magic in summer camp in 1994. I remember it being good times so I’d be down to play sometime. You’re back in town now, yeah?

Participant

Word. Yep I got back last night after a 30 hour day. Jet lag has got the best of me for the time being.

I have been playing MTG for the longest time when I was still living abroad and gave up with it when I migrated here. There is very few market, or the one I know, in the area. Anyone know any underground playing site?

Maybe I would go to hobby shops who sell cards and check with them if they know of any playing arenas.

I have been playing since the 6th edition and I am not that familiar with the editions now, though I would start reading up online to keep me updated.

Participant

Mike do you live in Chengdu? I haven’t seen any hobby shops that offer cards. I think downloading jpg files and printing them out would work just fine for rares.

You can play magic online if you have a pc but they charge a monthly fee.

If you are in Chengdu I have a decent sized collection of cards and would be down to play sometime over tea/beer.

Participant