Question About Visa Requirements

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionQuestion About Visa Requirements

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello all,

Several months ago I posted a thread about relocating to Chengdu and teaching English. Since then I have changed my mind and rather work in the field that I have experience in. Before I get ahead of myself, I would like to see if it’s even plausible.

Basically, I would like to relocate from the States to Chengdu and look for work. I don’t have a bachelor’s degree but I do have an associate’s degree from a two-year trade school in Architectural Drafting and Design. I have been working as a Project Estimator for the past six years. I have also worked as a CAD Draftsman and as a Project Engineer.

Based on the above information, would I be able to find work and obtain a visa that would permit me to work and live there legally?

If not, what are my options to be able to live and work there legally? Any information is greatly appreciated.

Participant

Would be able to find work, and get a permit – no problem. They need ‘some’ kinda post-highschool education and may say they need a bachelors or higher specifically but it’s not strict, as long as you have some kind of paper or diploma representing further education they’ll consider it enough. Look for a job (like 51job.com or chinahr.com or something) and they’ll take care of it for you – suggest trying to plan to be here on a tourist visa shortly after job search so you can do in person interviews.

Keymaster

“Live and work legally” is a very loose term in China – I don’t think you will have any issues with an associates degree though. If you have any visa problems or need more specific information, I would contact Shan Shui Visa, they’re extremely knowledgeable and are located in Chengdu.

Participant

I would suggest you to take help of consultants for the work permit!