Shopping in Chengdu?

HomeForumsIn ChengduShopping in Chengdu?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi all,

I’m new to Chengdu and I am trying to find somewhere to buy some clothes, shoes, jeans etc… I know Chunxi road is a good place to start but I am worried it is a overpriced tourist shopping area (like Oxford Street in London or Champs Elysee in Paris) , I have already been to the New Century global centre which is way over priced. I’m looking for reasonably priced Nike, Adidas , New Balance etc… shops/shopping mall

Any help appreciated!

Keymaster

There are tons of shopping malls in Chengdu… one to check out is Galleria in the South, across the street from Ikea. The name in Chinese is 凯德广场新南店, it should have all of the stores you mentioned. At Chunxi Lu is IFS, another mall. I would skip the Global Center for shopping, although it will likely have a lot of the same stores at this point.

Participant

Raffles City is another really popular and huge shopping mall. TaiKooLi is great for shopping as well. Both have official stores for all those brands you named. But prices for these kind of brands in the official stores are geared towards the upper middle class and you will not find any bargains. They are probably the same, if not more expensive than what you would pay back at home – since they’re international brands. “Overpriced” is simply what those brands cost over here. Expect 600-1200RMB for a pair of Nikes/Adidas. If you want to pay half and get a reasonable shoe or sport outfit you’re going to have to look at local brands like ANTA or 360.

If you want to find fake Nikes, you should avoid shopping malls and just do some exploring and looking around smaller shops. There’s very little of that the be found here apart from Taobao (and even there it’s much less than it used to be), but some older models cheap/fake Nikes can be found. I wouldn’t know exactly where, though.