The Cycling Thread

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionThe Cycling Thread

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 74 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi all. I was hoping there would be more info on the forum about bicycling. Couldn’t really find one, so how about making this thread for all cycling related stuff. The questions I have:

— Are there any good Local Bike Shops that do good repairs?

— Any shops where parts are available for a bike I would bring from back home?

— Any organized groups for riding? (I’m usually a roadie, but am thinking of bringing my MTB if the trails are nice around Chengdu)

— Do they have mountain bike trails in Chengdu?

— Do they have bike paths for road riding?

Anyway, would love to get some feedback. I’m no pro, but love to get out when I can, so any info would be helpful! Thx!

Participant

Hey cool to see this post. Definitely a lot of riding around Chengdu both mountain and road. Here are a few answers:

–Not really. I mostly do my own wrenching. If you aren’t a very experienced mechanic maybe PM me or something. I wouldn’t trust most shops here with my bikes.

–Kind of same as above, there are some but there spare parts are generally limited (tubes, cables, brake pads are no problem). taobao.com is usually the best bet for other stuff.

–Not that I know of but I am sure there are some. There are enough people riding here that there must be although probably more road oriented than mountain. Or riding mountain bikes on the road, that seems to be most popular.

–There are trails outside the city in the hills and farmland. Usually to ride them it is a whole day out of the city so if I have a day I ride my mountain bike if I only have a morning or afternoon I just do a road ride near the city. If you get to Chengdu and want to ride some trails PM me and we can set up a time to ride.