Working in Chengdu with a Tourist Visa?

HomeForumsClassifiedsJobs & Apartment RentalsWorking in Chengdu with a Tourist Visa?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi everyone,

We have been offered a job in Chengdu in an English school. At first, we talked about working visa, but we were informed that to work in Chengdu, one should have graduated from university 2 years ago + one should have 2 years of working experience. So at this point, we were told that it’s impossible for us to get a working visa since I’ve only graduated last year. (Even though I’ve been working as a teacher since 2010)

What they are suggesting right now is to come with tourist visa which would later be changed to visitor’s visa in a local police station and then we would reapply once again and then go to HK to apply for a new one.

Basically:

Tourist visa (1 mnth)–>Visitor’s visa (1 or 2 mnths) –>Extension of visitor’s visa (1 mnth) –> Reapplication of tourist visa in HK. (1 mnth)

So the questions that I’ve got:

1. Is it true that you can apply for working visa only if 2 years had passed after the graduation?

2. What other visas is it possible to get in China to stay longer?

Any insights would be very useful.

Participant

I feel this a quite a standard procedure, come to China on a business / tourist and then they can change it to a Z visa. This happened to me and all of my friends, inc my boyfriend who works for a British International School. Some people even work here on a tourist visa and leave every 3months to HK to renew.

I managed to get a working Z visa from HK and had only passed my graduation after a year. It is possible, it’s just harder for the school. As long as the school is legit and they’ve promised you a Z visa you should be fine.

However the visa policies have changed, but theres always a way around things in China. I wouldn’t worry about it…

Keymaster

1. Yes, that is true