Seeking Travel Mates for Kangding

HomeForumsIn ChengduSeeking Travel Mates for Kangding

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’m originally from Taiwan, and am now a doctoral student in Sociology from New York City, camping out at a town in Neijiang (2 hours southeast) for my ethnography.

This is my first time in Sichuan, and it didn’t take long for me to get distracted by all (im)possible scenic spots.  Through a new friend here, I got to know this American woman Angela, who married a Tibetan and is now involved in eco-tourism with experience-type workshops (and many others) in KangDing.  http://www.definitelynomadic.com

So I am trying to round up travel mates to visit KangDing together.  I am able to depart as soon as next week/weekend.  Please send private messages or email to discuss.

Thank you.  Alice

Participant

Hi Alice,

Just sent you a PM

All the best,

Silvia

Participant

I don’t have to go so urgently now (as I just got so many different requests of help from my interviewees that I wish to stay here more solidly first to help address these needs), so this trip can be done at the end of August.

Plus, I also checked flight prices.  Sept 1 Kanding to Chengdu – prices are reduced to around RMB 750 compared to almost RMB 1000 summer prices.

Proposed route: on way to – ChengDu to Ya An by bus on ideally a weekday morning.  Overnight in Ya An and sight seeing a bit the next morning.  Then bus from Ya An to Kanding around noon time.  Arrive before Sunset.  Returned from Kanding to Chengdu by plane.

Thanks for reading this update,

Alice

Participant

Not sure yet about my plans for the end of August. From the financial point of view there are definitely some advantages. I will get back to you when I know more. I would love to go because it’s a great opportunity to have a travel mate and I don’t really like to travel by myself.

Best!

Silvia

Participant