A Literatus to be in Chengdu this Winter

HomeForumsClassifiedsA Literatus to be in Chengdu this Winter

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Participant

What an absolute pleasure it is to introduce myself, and please forgive the bombast of the title to this post.

I am writing just to give a shout out to all who might be interested in receiving lessons in English or literature on a private basis.  I am working at a university in another city in Sichuan, but find myself on a sabbatical for the next two months in Chengdu, and so, in mind of shibboleths about idleness and its dangers, I might like to fill the time with casual teaching, or, a fortiori, with any writing or editing concerns.

I could unashamedly wax lyrical about prowess, but I will make it more banal and just say I am a literature graduate (BA) who has written and published myriad literary works before, and is, moreover, imbued with the sincere belief that reading and literature, though challenging at first for foreign students of English, provides a far superior teaching basis than all the newfangled ideas and technology in the world.  What is more, it can be very enjoyable and is wholly conducive to criticism and creativity.

Of course,  I am capable of teaching in more conventional styles, designing dynamic lessons that are thematically fitted to conversation and including new vocabulary.  Attention to pronunciation and grammar is concomitant and automatic, of course.

So, to those eager young minds or interested organisations, you can contact me by email on [email protected], or, alternatively, may private message me on here.

It has not only been a pleasure, but an honour. . .

Robert John Quinn

p.s.  I will live permanently in Chengdu from next June, so this two month stay will be a reconnaissance, of sorts.

Mister Quinn,

I feel compelled, by the sheer ELECTRIC thrum in my temples and sudden surrender of my synapses, to confess: