Advice for Chengdu: What You Wish You Had Known

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionAdvice for Chengdu: What You Wish You Had Known

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author

I will be in Chengdu before the month is out. I have never lived in China, but I have spent 5 years in Korea, Vietnam and Indonesia. I am looking for some advice. So can anyone send a little love my way with some advice on Chengdu?

possible hints on:

– getting a motorcycle (legally)

– nonexpat markets, restaurants, establishments (I am a chef)

– where NOT to wander

– best way to learn Chinese

– shoes, clothing stores for average-sized WESTERNER

– anything else

I usually just wander, but my Chinese is almost nil, and know no one in Chengdu, so any advice would be killer.

Sorry guys… I forgot. What about Internet in Chengdu? Do they have 4G? 3G? What brands are good? Prices. Sorry. I am a total China noob.

Almost everything you are asking here is already in the forum, or the Chengdu Living site itself (Learning Chinese for example), so check those threads and add to them with your responses. That’ll help others looking for similar information in future, by keeping information fresh and updated.

Good luck in the Du!!

Sorry Brendan. I found some of the answers, but many of the posts were older. I just thought a summary would be quick and easy. I will ask my questions in the individual threads for each topic.

No apology needed dude. When you add a question/comment to the thread, it brings it up to the top for everyone to see. This will encourage visitors of the forum to give you fresh answers.

Keymaster

This is off the top of my head, you can find more detailed info on the forum and on the site like Brendan said:

– getting a motorcycle (legally): Getting a Motorcycle in Chengdu

– nonexpat markets, restaurants, establishments (I am a chef): 99% of the markets, restaurants and establishments in Chengdu are non-expat so you’ll have no problem with that