Advice on moving to Chengdu

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionAdvice on moving to Chengdu

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I am looking to move to Chengdu in the near future, hopefully in July or August. I want to move there because my girlfriend will be starting work in Chengdu in August (she’s Chinese).

I am looking for some job-related advice. I am interested in finding a job in Chengdu. I have done some research, and it seems that I will be able to find some sort of job, especially teaching English. However, in June, I’ll be obtaining my Master’s in Mathematics, and I have 2 years experience teaching and tutoring math for mostly 1st and 2nd year university students. And, I’m actually a very good teacher. So, I would prefer a job teaching or tutoring math (taught in English). But, of course, I think it will be easier to find a job teaching English.

I also enjoy teaching English (but I prefer math)… I never taught English officially, in a classroom setting, but I have many Chinese friends that are recent arrivals to Canada and they don’t all speak great English… I am very successful helping them improve.

So, I have a few questions. Should I try to secure a job while still in Canada? It’ll be easier to get a work visa, right? Should I get a job teaching english first, to get me started off in Chengdu… then later, after my contract is done, I can try to find a job teaching mathematics… I think it might be easier to find a job since I’ll already be in Chengdu. Also, if I get a job teaching English, would I be able to do work on the side, possibly tutoring mathematics?

Should I go to Chengdu first, and find a job? It would be safer, and easier to find one while I’m already there… I might have to leave China in order to get a work visa, right? I don’t want to work illegally.