Am I asking too much?

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionAm I asking too much?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’m a 43 yrs old architect moving from Shanghai to Chengdu and I’m having a hard time finding an nice apartment here. One or two bedrooms just for me where I should stay at least one year.

Don’t get me wrong. This long post is not a complaint, but a seeking for denial. I really hope that somebody can tell me that I’m wrong and maybe give me some hints. Because I’m stuck and I start to get a little bit depressed. I have leaved in China for almost 4 yrs, to say I’m not a newbie in this planet.

For logistical reasons I should stay in South CD between the 3rd and 4th ring, more or less along Line 1, and I have a decent house allowance from my Company.

I supervise and manage a construction site of thousands of square meters at the Borders Of The World (read: over Pixian, North West of CD). Even if you probably don’t work on a construction site (and if somebody out there does, well, Hi mate!) I think you can guess what it can be in China…

So, when I come back from The Hell at Borders Of The World, I’d like to crash myself in a nice, CLEAN, not so noisy (I know silent is almost a taboo), simple home. As I did for two yrs in Beijing and one year and a half in Guangzhou. (In Shanghai I was just a guest of a colleague for some months, but still the house was comfy).

Now, in more than a week, through the “help” of the local agents and the meta-agents like Maxxelli, I screened roughly 80% of the decent compounds in the South with no luck.

My survey tells me this: around Tongzilin where I have the chance to meet some pale pal like me and have a Western dinner from time to time, I see nice apts but very old and already abused by several tenants like in Europe City or Master, which actually is kinda the furthest I can go to have a commute that doesn’t exceed 1,5 hours.