Applying for a Student Visa

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionApplying for a Student Visa

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi everyone!

I currently live in the states but am going out to Chengdu to try and teach English in June. I know I don’t qualify for a working visa because of the new requirements (I’m only 22, I don’t have certification, etc). I heard that a Student Visa is my best bet.

Do you guys have any tips on how to qualify one? The requirements online said I need to have verification from an institute that I am studying at. Also, does anyone have any tips on getting the student visa that is longer than 6 months? Or is it easy to re-new one?

Thanks!

-Kirstie

Participant

You probably wont get student visa without applying to some University to study. So just pick whatever suits you, be it either something big like Sichuan Daxue or something small. Getting a longer than 6 months visa while not being in China is more pain that its worth imho. Its extremely easy to renew anyway and once here you can easily get a 1 year old one as well.

Participant

Do you have any recommendations on a school that is smaller? I wouldn’t mind doing Chinese language classes if that would satisfy the requirement for a student visa.  Or some type of culture class.

Sichuan University tends to be more expensive. Southwest University for Minorities (西南民族大学) is one of the more popular ones for people looking to take a class or 2 and hold a visa with lower tuition.

Participant

The cost of tuition will offset the cash from teaching, if you’re coming with financials as a non-issue then it works out fine, if you’re expecting to live off of teaching income it may be pretty rough… I think it’s like 6k RMB/semester at sichuan uni?

Participant