Backpacking Western Sichuan Info

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionBackpacking Western Sichuan Info

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’m new to backpacking/trecking outside of America, so I’m wondering how it is done. I’ve done a lot in America, but since this isn’t it how different is it? Oh, by when I mean backpacking, I don’t mean going from hostel to hostel, but camping with everything in my backpack and staying out in the wilderness for days on end, cooking everything yourself and watching out for animals.

In America, I always brought (at the minimum):
    -Backpacking backpack
    -Tent
    -sleeping bag
    -sleeping pad
    -warm clothes
    -stove (with kerosene, or whatever gas being used, attached)
    -water bottle
    -water purifier
    -food
    -Bear canister to keep the food in
    -Map and compass
    -knife
    What other differences are there in the equipment that you should bring? What type of food should you get? I’m used to the packaged food from REI where you just add boiled water. Where should I keep the food? Should I bring a rope to hang the food from a tree?
    I have a few of these things, but I know you can rent most of them.

Any one know where you can find good detailed topographical maps of places?

I’m looking to go to 贡嘎山 (gònggá shān) next week. I don’t know how high up I will go, but I will try to avoid the glaciers and ice. Anyone have any good advice about the area? I’m going to be starting at 磨西镇, but since I don’t have a map I can’t plan where I will go each day.

Lastly, one of the saddest things I’ve heard about China was this one woman’s reply to my plan. When I said that I have to be wary about animals, she said, “In China, there are no animals, there are just more people.”

Participant

Trees to hang your food from? That high up?