Locating a Gym in Chengdu

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionLocating a Gym in Chengdu

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 27 total)
  • Author

I’m new to the city and I am looking for a fitness gym in Chengdu. It would be nice if it wasn’t too far of a walk from a metro station. Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Participant

There are several threads about this subject!

Check out Working out in Chengdu

This one may have too much testosterone for your taste:

Girly man gym

Keymaster

Which area of the city do you live in? Each quadrant of the city has gyms so finding the one in proximity to you might be the best move.

Participant

If you are living alone, a home gym would be best. I converted my living room into a sweet home gym. The only minus about it.. Is the lack of motivation :P.

Keymaster
    Quote:
    If you are living alone, a home gym would be best. I converted my living room into a sweet home gym. The only minus about it.. Is the lack of motivation :P.

I tried to do that last year and had the same problem. It’s difficult to get motivated in your house because you don’t psychologically associate your house with physical exertion. For that reason alone – not to mention the investment required to get properly setup – I think a gym fee is worth it.

It also depends on your goals though, if you just want to maintain a reasonable level of fitness you can do bodyweight exercises. If you want to acquire more muscle or see more dramatic change though you will need to be lifting more heavy.

I live in the high tech area.

Keymaster
    Quote:
    I live in the high tech area.

There’s no question then, the gym you want to go to is QSL, in Tianfu Software Park. It’s less than a 5 minute walk from the Century City subway stop, next to a China Construction Bank on the 4th floor. A one year membership is 1,600 yuan if I’m not mistaken. I go there 3x a week and there are a handful of other foreigners that are regulars there.

Ok great. I will take a look at it tomorrow.