Moving from Chicago to Chengdu

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionMoving from Chicago to Chengdu

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi all!

I will be arriving in Chengdu in about twelve days. I have all my essentials in order (visa, immunizations, housing, etc.). I will be working in Wenjiang for several months.

I am not new to living abroad, though it’s been awhile since I’ve done so. This is my first time in China, and I am curious about a couple of things. What would you recommend I pack that the travel guides might miss? I believe I have the essentials set, and I have my one totally frivolous item (my PS3 – love to game), but if there’s anything a midwesterner should have upon arrival, I’d be happy to hear it.

Also, I am curious about what this forum might offer by way of advice for making it through the first week.  The internet has been less than helpful on this front – I’ve read the gamut of opinions and have yet to feel like I actually know what I ought to expect.

Thank you!

Participant

While I can’t think of any directly useful pieces of equipment that you should bring. Some home comforts never hurt. I’ve been making requests for tea and biscuits from my visitors from back home in the UK. They serve as a warm comfort when I really need it. The tastes and the smells will throw you back to scenes in your living room back at home and make you feel at ease.

As for what to expect here, I’d recommend a few things from the site. The concise guide to Chengdu, and this list which is updated with categorised articles about Chengdu specifically. I also feel that this show represented Chengdu very well. It’s essentially a cooking show, but it was very informative. I encourage you to watch and get an idea of, at least, what you’ll be eating.

“Your first week in Chengdu” would be a great idea for a future article too!

Participant

Your gun…just to show it to all the Chinese that ask to see it once mentioning Chicago.