Moving to Chengdu: Housing Assistance

HomeForumsClassifiedsJobs & Apartment RentalsMoving to Chengdu: Housing Assistance

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello! I’m so happy to have found this forum. I have been reading over several prior posts and the information has been extremely useful. Thank you!

I am interested in moving to Chengdu this year and would love to find some assistance with finding housing. I lived in China for a year (2012) in Haikou, Hainan province, so am very familiar with the initial challenges of navigating the culture and language, and securing basic things like utilities, phone, drinking water, the usual stuff. However, because I came to China as an English teacher, my housing was already secured for me.

This time around I will be coming to China on my own, and am back to my normal job of software consulting, so will be working remotely for my US clients. My ideal situation would be:

• to find an apartment in the 3000-5000RMB range, in a neighborhood where I can easily commute by train and taxi should I need to venture out and about
    • to be able to live for 2-3 months at a time in Chengdu, with trips back to the US in between (for maybe a few weeks to a month each visit), while still paying for my apartment in Chengdu so that I always have the same place to come back to
    • would love to live within short walking distance to parks for exercise and as much of an outdoorsy feeling in the city as possible

Do you have any recommendations on neighborhoods? Which neighborhoods have an old-style feel with all the nearby modern conveniences, restaurants, shopping, etc.?

Do I need to go through an agent if I’d like to secure something prior to travel?

What would the Visa situation look like for my situation? i.e. living 2-3 months at a time in Chengdu between US visits?