Studying in Chengdu – Some Questions

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionStudying in Chengdu – Some Questions

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi my name is Daniel. I have been following the forums for a while but this is my first post. I was just accepted into my study abroad program in Chengdu. The University I am studying at is Southwest University for Nationalities. I have a few questions I was hoping you veterans could give me a good answer on.

The first is where to live, should I live. I have to either choose the dorms, or an off campus apartment. I was leaning towards the apartment since I think it might expose me to more culture. My goal is to be immersed as possible. Would I get the same level if I choose the dorms though? It would be nice to have the safety net of living on campus.

The second question is what to bring. I will be arriving in August and studying for a year. I have read on other posts to bring deodorant, and clothes if you are taller. What is considered taller by Chinese standards though? I wear size large shirt, and a US 11 in shoes, this wouldn’t be considered large here but is it there? Also should I bring clothes for the whole year or should I plan on buying some clothes in once I arrive?

The last thing I was wondering is should I plan to buy a bike, or are the buses a better option? I have read on the forums that many people use bikes.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Daniel

Size 11 shoes (45-46) can be found here. You’ll probably be sizing up to XL. Finding clothes here shouldn’t be that hard. Deodorants here aren’t as strong and kind of pricey, so bringing your own would be a good idea.

Big bike culture here so many people will encourage you to get one. It’s definitely the most convenient way around the city in terms of speed and convenience. Just be sure to get a good lock and don’t leave it outside at night. Also be careful or else you could end up with stitches or a head wound like me.