What's most difficult about learning Mandarin?

HomeForumsGeneral DiscussionWhat's most difficult about learning Mandarin?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 21 total)
  • Author

Hey I am a college girl who is interested in teaching Mandarin as a foreign language.

Mandarin is considered one of the most difficult languages in the world. As a native, we always forget that it is difficult to learn.

I have been a Mandarin tutor for more than a year now and i wanna know where do you guys find the most difficulty…

anyway, it is hard to learn but it is kind of important to learn at some point..

an American investor and writer once said,

“Learn Mandarin and buy the future of China.”

“The 21st century is the century of China!”

So, if you have been learning Mandarin and have your own opinion,

choose one or two… or come up with some idea of your own

1.the tones

2.Chinese characters

3.The “disordered” grammar

4.the dialects…

…..etc

I’m Chinese ethnically so my mother tried to teach me Chinese growing up. I especially had trouble, and still do today, with the 2nd and 3rd tones.

Now as an intermediate Chinese learner, I find it difficult to remember stroke order and remembering how to write characters altogether. I have to try to associate each character with a picture or a story consisting of the different parts of the character.

I have trouble with conjunctions (if, although, but etc)

I’m Chinese ethnically so my mother tried to teach me Chinese growing up. I especially had trouble, and still do today, with the 2nd and 3rd tones.

Now as an intermediate Chinese learner, I find it difficult to remember stroke order and remembering how to write characters altogether. I have to try to associate each character with a picture or a story consisting of the different parts of the character.

I have trouble with conjunctions (if, although, but etc)

Hey Chris

Yeah the tones can be difficult and they really sound exotic.